Warrior Dash, Yup

Ok, now maybe this is what mid-life is all about.  Tomorrow I am running my first 5k and it is an obstacle course mud run.  I am incredibly excited and I am hoping it will be the first of many mud runs.  I don’t know if you have heard of the Warrior Dash.  Google it!  Then sign up and do it!  Tomorrow my opinion may be different.  That is why I am writing a post today.  I want to remember how great the anticipation was before the race.  This is going to be short and sweet because I want to conserve my energy.  Yes, even typing energy.

When I quit smoking and started working out, I needed something to look forward to.  I needed something to work towards.  Just being healthier in general wasn’t enough motivation for me.  I know me well enough to know that I have a tendency to lose interest in things.  That is never my intention, but as they say, the road to hell is paved with good intentions.  I first heard about these obstacle course mud runs through a friend.  She had done a Tough Mudder and she was my age.  Tough Mudder is a 10-12 mile obstacle course mud run.  As soon as I saw it, I wanted to do it.  I knew that I could never do it in the shape I was in and I smoked a pack a day.

It looked like so much fun.  I told my husband I was going to do one of these runs within a year.  Well the year came and went and I was still smoking and not working out.  I was talking about Mudder to another friend, she suggested the Warrior Dash first.  She is smart enough to know to start smaller and work up.  I am blessed with friends who give good advice.  The Warrior Dash is a 5k obstacle course mud run.  Well, I finally quit smoking and was working out so, this is the year.  Tomorrow I am going to try to finish the Warrior Dash.  I make no promises.  Wish me luck!  Until tomorrow…

One thought on “Warrior Dash, Yup

Leave a Reply

