Summer

I haven’t been writing as much as I had planned because it is summer!  Living in Michigan where winter lasts almost six months, you really learn to appreciate the warmth of the summer.  Yes I know that winter is only supposed to be three months here, but someone needs to tell that to mother nature.  I personally hate the cold.  I am a born and raised Michigander and have never acclimated to the winters here.  I think snow is beautiful…to look at.  I don’t want to ski in it or snowmobile in it.  I don’t find it fun at all.  Oh, I have occasionally enjoyed a snow ball fight or two but honestly I could go the rest of my life without having another one.  Then this year of change happened.  So I am being challenged to try new things and do stuff I never would have before.

I start wearing long johns under my clothes in October at the latest. I have a tendency to be really angry in the winter.  Being cold brings out my dark side. My husband always says that the reason I don’t like winter is because I don’t dress warm enough.  I thought maybe he was right, so I took his advice and bought a really warm coat.  Then I did something really crazy for me, I went to the outhouse races in northern Michigan in January! So I deliberately chose to go outside in winter in northern Michigan.  This is definitely way out of my comfort zone. But I did it and I actually had fun.  Not that I wasn’t cold.  New coat or not it was COLD.  I did get to see outhouse races though, everyone should experience that in real life.  It is truly hilarious.

So understand when the days are warm and sunny I am outside.  I am sitting on my porch drinking coffee or working in my yard.  I might be in someone else’s yard under their canopy, listening to a waterfall, but you better believe if I can be, I am outside enjoying the beautiful weather. Being cooped up all winter really makes summer feel like a release from a six month jail term.  I guess living in Michigan really makes you appreciate the sun while it lasts.  So I will be blogging but maybe just for the summer, it will be short and sweet.  I don’t know, depends on the weather!

One thought on “Summer

Leave a Reply

