Chad You Big Jerk!

This had been the year of change for me. One of the catalysts for the year of change was my gall bladder.  I have had some issues with it in the past but this January it really threw a fit.  I ended up in the emergency room on pain meds.  If you knew me, you would know, I don’t go to the doctor unless it is an emergency.  Yes, I have health insurance, I would rather do just about anything than go to a doctor. The emergency room visit is the first time I had seen a doctor since my last gall bladder attack two year previous.  Again, I avoid doctors.

Up until this time if I told you my eating habits, you would think you were talking about a ten year old.  Let me give you an example.  The first time I went to the emergency room for gall bladder pain, I had been eating gummy bears and potato chips.  Yes, I know.  The nurse looked at me as if I were a crazy person.  That is what I had eaten all day…I know.  I don’t need the judgement!  I was set up for some additional tests and the tests results said I had a low functioning gall bladder.  I didn’t need surgery…yet.  I did some research online about gall bladder issues but I started to feel normal again.  I did give up that particular flavor of potato chips but other than that I pretty much went back to eating the way I did before the attack.

Fast forward two years and my second emergency room visit.  This time on top of having gall bladder issues I also had pancreatitis, caused from the gall bladder issue.  That really freaked me out.  I guess it took me a while but I started to take it seriously.  I was set up to see a surgeon to have my gall bladder removed.  Now I decided to do some serious research online and learn what I needed to do next.  I meant business this time.  I didn’t want to have surgery if I could avoid it.  So I started to change my diet, drank lots of water, etc.

I don’t take too many things seriously.  In fact, I have an unusual sense of humor.  My husband and I were talking about my gall bladder issue one night in the car on the way home from visiting my aunt.  In my mind I visualized my gall bladder as kind of just flat and hanging there like a balloon without air, you know like on the cartoons.  I am aware that isn’t how it looks but that is how I saw it in my mind.  It suddenly struck me that it is just hanging there like a chad.  Like the hanging chads that were so controversial in the 2000 presidential election.  So from then on my gall bladder became known as Chad.

Chad could be really moody and we would call Chad many different names that would be inappropriate to put in here.  It became a standing joke and still is.  Chad has gotten lots of insults and verbal abuse since he started throwing fits to get my attention.  Whenever we would talk about Chad, people would wonder why weFile:Looking for hanging chad, 2000 Presidential election.jpg disliked the guy so much.  It became quite fun to talk about it and then explain that Chad was my gall bladder.  The look on people’s faces was priceless. I told you I have a unique sense of humor.  But honestly, Chad is one of the main reasons that I started this new way of living.  I probably should be thanking Chad, not heaping abuse on him…but that is probably not going to happen.  So I started eating much more appropriately, took my medicine, drank my water and did everything I could to get Chad feeling better.  My surgeon ordered another scan and it came back great! I didn’t have to have surgery and if I keep eating right and watch my fat intake, Chad and I should be together for a long time.

It’s the little things like Chad, that really made me pay attention to what needed changing in my life.  And one change leads to another.  Chad may have been a big jerk, but he was the push I needed to start changing my lifestyle.

3 thoughts on “Chad You Big Jerk!

Leave a Reply

